Home > Uncategorized > How Marriage Helps Us Get Rich

How Marriage Helps Us Get Rich

CNN.com reports something extremely interesting: Study Finds That Marriage Builds Wealth.

I find it very telling here that those who commit themselves to marriage get twice as much wealth. Isn’t that the purpose of two becoming one? The article even alludes to such a biblical principle:

David Popenoe, co-director of the National Marriage Project at Rutgers University, said people become more economically productive after they marry.

“They work harder, they advance further in their job, they save more money, and maybe invest more wisely,” Popenoe said. “That’s because, one can speculate, they are now working for something larger than themselves. They are working for a family.”


I really like the prospects of this study for my long-term growth. Tricia is actually going to be a benefit, not a liability as conventional wisdom would say. Conventional wisdom says you don’t need a man or a woman in your life, respectively, to gain wealth. Your significant other will actually drain your wealth, regardless of your earning power. ‘Tis better to be single or divorced. To that I declare, “Hogwash.”

This study went on to say, in no uncertain terms, that “divorce looks like one of the fastest ways to destroy your wealth.” Yet another reason never to get divorced. You’ll go to the poorhouse.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 26, 2006 at 7:02 am

    Remember, correlation does not necessarily denote causation. Perhaps it is only the wealthy who can afford to marry?

  2. January 4, 2014 at 9:38 am

    Everything said was very reasonable. But, consider this,
    suppose you added a little information? I am not suggesting your information is not solid, however suppose you added something
    that makes people desire more? I mean How Marriage Helps Us Get Rich
    | The Silent Holocron is a little plain. You ought to peek at
    Yahoo’s home page and watch how they write news headlines
    to grab viewers to open the links. You might try
    adding a video or a related picture or two to get people
    excited about everything’ve got to say. In my opinion, it might bring your
    posts a little bit more interesting.

  3. March 17, 2014 at 6:55 am

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it,
    you will be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will
    often come back later on. I want to encourage one to continue your
    great job, have a nice evening!

  4. March 17, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either written myself
    or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization.

    Do you know any ways to help stop content from being ripped
    off? I’d truly appreciate it.

  5. April 5, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    Hello there, I believe your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine
    however, when opening in IE, it has some overlapping issues.

    I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Apart from that, great site!

  6. April 18, 2014 at 9:14 pm

    Hello there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums
    that cover the same subjects? Thanks a lot!

  7. May 17, 2014 at 11:44 am

    It’s enormous that you are getting thoughts from this paragraph as well
    as from our argument made at this time.

  8. July 2, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    Hi to every one, the contents present at this web page are in fact amazing for people
    experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  9. September 23, 2014 at 6:08 am

    I just like the valuable info you provide to your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your weblog and take a look at again here frequently.
    I’m relatively sure I’ll be informed plenty of
    new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

