Home > Uncategorized > The Deluge of 2006

The Deluge of 2006

By now most of you know what has happened.

In the twenty-ninth year of Deaf Jedi’s life, in the ninth month, on the twenty-second day of the month, on the same day all the fountains of the deep burst open, and the floodgates of the sky were opened.

Genesis 7:11, Deaf Jedi Translation

Yup. I was caught in the Flood.

Tricia and I attended the Trinity-St. Xavier game but were forced to leave after only a quarter of play, with Trinity leading 10-0, having basically handed St. X their behinds on a shamrock platter throughout the first quarter. After Tricia decided to take the longest lines out of Papa John’s Cardinal Stadium, we finally arrived home in the midst of a torrential downpour with 50 mph winds to find the ditches in our apartment complex filled with about a foot of water. Being very tired and somewhat sick (I think it was the chicken I ate at the tailgate party that got rained out), I marched inside, changed and went to bed.

Tricia awoke this morning to find that the entire street at our complex was under three feet of water. I was still sick and feverish, so I was not really in a state of caring as long as I was warm and dry, so I stayed in bed, refusing to get up. But then Tricia took our camera out and got a picture of my car (the Geritolmobile™) and the flooded streets. The water at that time was just over the bottom of the doors of my car. I knew that all I could really do was hope that the water did not get in enough.

Later, after the water receded enough that we could get on the street, Tricia attempted to convince me several times that we needed to go to her mother’s. One thing you don’t wanna do is annoy a sick man, so I freely admit my attitude was not as sympathetic as it should have been. But after a while the throbbing in my head convinced me to just let it be, and I got out of bed to find that she had already packed a few things. Huh.

Deciding to move my car before we left, I opened the door to find there was a foot-deep puddle of muddy water in the floor. I was disgusted and not a little ticked. It went all the way to the back seat. As I sat down, I discovered the seat was saturated. Same for the back. Apparently the water was a little higher than it was this morning. So I’m in possession of a ruined interior.

The water has since dried but the floor and seats are still quite moist. I’m gonna have to throw out a lot of the things that were in the car — various papers brought home from work to study, old sermon notes, things like that. Replaceable stuff. Thankfully no books.  The engine is fine, praise God.  But you never really recover from a flooded interior.  It will only be a matter of time before it starts smelling permanently fishy. It’s a 10-year old car, so it’s number would eventually have been up. It sure did run well, though.

So the long and short of it is, I will begin planning for a new vehicle in the next year. We are going to tighten down on the budget and start putting every non-essential cent (beyond tithe, savings, bills, and food) towards a car fund. We will not be buying new, of course, but used. Please pray for the Lord’s wisdom in making wise auto decisions over the next six months.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. May 31, 2007 at 5:10 pm
  2. April 7, 2008 at 6:52 am

Leave a Reply

