Home > Songs & Poetry > Forgiven, Not Forsaken

Forgiven, Not Forsaken

Found myself singing a song I wrote two years ago on a pretty regular basis, so I decided I would repost it here. It has been a great comfort to me this week.

Forgiven Not Forsaken

by Stephen Newell

I’m so high on my own life
Sinkin’ down into the mire
Clawin’ hard, swimmin’ fast
Didn’t know things were so dire
I don’t care a single whit
Who You are or why You’re here
Why should I give up my life
Just because You’ve drawn so near

All we are is a grain of sand
On a ball of dust in Wonderland
Lumps of clay You sculpt again
We’re forgiven, not forsaken

You call out to my stone heart
I don’t care to hear Your words
Deaf in ears, and deaf in heart
Look at You, You’re so absurd
But, Father, You had a plan
Picked me out as Your child
Heart of stone, now heart of flesh
Made my spirit soar so wild

All we are is a grain of sand
On a ball of dust in Wonderland
Lumps of clay You sculpt again
We’re forgiven, not forsaken

Father, You, You had a plan
Picked me out for Your Son
Gave me faith to believe
Victory, my life You won
You are all that I am
Gave me reason to exist
I love You for what You’ve done
Take me home into the mist

All we are is a grain of sand
On a ball of dust in Wonderland
Lumps of clay You sculpt again
We’re forgiven, not forsaken

Categories: Songs & Poetry
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

