Home > Theology > What Do You Think Of When You Read The Bible?

What Do You Think Of When You Read The Bible?

“What do you think of when you read the Bible?”

I was asked this very excellent question recently by a young Russian girl that I was training at UPS. I very frankly admit her question caught me a little off-guard. This is something that I had not really thought about at all. A quick musing of the question produced the following answer.

When I read the Bible I am thinking two things: 1) What is happening in the story or text I am reading? 2) What does God want me to learn from what I am reading?

This answer intrigued my trainee, but gave me a little bit of consternation. I have never really given serious consideration to what thought processes are in mind when I read Scripture. On the way home from UPS that night, I realized this topic would make excellent fodder for a series of posts. Over the next few days, I’m going to seriously look at what I think when I read Scripture, what I don’t think, and what Scripture commands me to consider. This is going to be fun. Join me soon!

Categories: Theology
  1. February 20, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    Interesting question. Your two-part answer is solid, and I look forward to you forthcoming posts on your consideration of that question.

    By the way, if you had a light-saber, what color would it be?

  1. February 22, 2007 at 10:06 pm

Leave a Reply

