Home > Where I Am Right Now > A Blog Update

A Blog Update

Thought it would be nice to do an update.

First, the blogging. I am working on a series of posts on the question What Do You Think Of When You Read The Bible? I’ve been attempting to write down my thoughts this week as I’ve been reading Scripture, and I think I’m going to continue that practice for another week or two before I begin the series. I want a broad scan of my thoughts, and one week doesn’t feel like enough.

In the meantime, I’m going to fire back up the series on infant salvation. You can read previous entries here: Intro, Sidebar, Pro, and First Rebuttal, Part 1. I want to get through this topic, which is extremely difficult for many people and made even more so for people like myself who have experienced the loss of a child. There is fruit to be had, and I want to pick it from the trees.

Also, I am seriously considering adding some rules for commenting on this blog. I don’t get a lot of comments on this blog, and this blog is not even that well-known or important, but I recently had to ban someone after warning them to cool their jets. More on this hopefully in the next couple of weeks as I look over the rules at some of the “bigger” blogs.

Second, the “Where I Am Right Now” stuff. My reading has been woeful as of late. The only thing I can seem to do with any consistency is read fiction. So I have decided to start completely over. The books in the sidebar under “Personal Study” as of tonight (with the notable exceptions of Dagg’s Manual of Theology, which continues to be my downtime reader while at work) are no longer on the table. Most of them have sat unread with bookmarks somewhere in their body for the past couple of months. I am going to begin afresh, and I have decided to begin with a re-reading of D.A. Carson’s Exegetical Fallacies. I read this for Hershael York’s Ministry of Proclamation class at Southern, and given that I am preaching through the book of Romans, it would be a very good time to refresh my reading by undertaking a more careful and thoughtful reading.

Also, I need to get cracking on posting book reviews as well. I have finished (I think) three books since Thanksgiving and have not posted reviews on them. Next week I am going to try and get my review of J. I. Packer’s Knowing God written and posted.

Third, the sermons. I’ve also been behind in posting my sermons, and I am setting a goal of getting two sermons a week posted until I am caught up. I intend to begin this Saturday with my sermon “Eager to Preach the Gospel – Romans 1:13-15,” which was preached last October 29. Yes, I am that far behind in posting my sermons. Thankfully, I am not too far behind, since I share the preaching duties with my senior pastor, Tim Bender. My preaching from Romans 1 will reach its conclusion the first Sunday of March.

Well, that is the update thus far. And with that, I’m off to work at UPS.

Categories: Where I Am Right Now
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

