Home > Humor, Where I Am Right Now > Memorial Day Musings

Memorial Day Musings

Well, this is the first post after Memorial Day. I had a good week and weekend. Tricia and I started the week by procuring for ourselves a new computer. I finally got fed up with my Dell (sorry Dad and “Dell Dude”) and relegated it to the bench. It had been crashing two or three times a day, and I had just paid to have it fixed last fall after a major meltdown. With the amount of computer use I indulge in (for research, sermons, blogging, email, occasional shopping, household documents, etc.) I couldn’t abide nor afford to suffer another major meltdown. So off we went to Best Buy, after a couple days’ research on pricing and specs at different stores. Came home with a very nice HP computer. HP computers are the best. They have never given us problems. It just seems like they work until they wear out, which is exactly what you want in a computer. This one’s package has Windows Vista Home Premium, 320 GB hard drive, 2048 mb RAM, a bay for an external memory storage device if we so desire to get one in the future, 17″ LCD monitor (think thinline flatscreen), and a print/scan/copy printer. Everything a busy pastor needs. I won’t be running out of space for sermons and other papers any time soon. I’m praying this one does what we expect cars to do and lasts 10 years.

Friday Tricia and I went to see Pirates of the Caribbean: At the World’s End. This movie very neatly tied together everything from the second movie. It also left open the possibility for a fourth movie in the future, if they so desire. What a well-done series. We met another Deaf couple and their kids there, a couple we consider to be good friends, so it was a great time of fellowship. I got to see the full trailer for the new Transformers movie, and I am chomping at the bit. Now, a brief aside about our friends. They have three small children. One is in his imaginative stage. Wanna know how imaginative? Here’s what his mother revealed:

He created his own character, Stinky Underwear! He wears only his underwear, a cape, black knee high socks, a belt, and carries a sword. He farts to fly. Geez, kids these days!

Though I am still laughing, I can’t help but wonder if that’s a warning shot for Tricia and I.

Sunday, for the second straight week, I set aside my scheduled Romans sermon to focus on the particular day. I exhorted our congregation not to forget the Lord (Deuteronomy 8:11) on Memorial Day. Instead, I asked them to spend their day in submission to the Lord as per 2 Chronicles 7:14. Humble yourselves, pray (for yourselves, your family and friends, your church, and others, especially our government and military), seek the Lord’s face, confess and repent of your sins.

Yesterday, I got up early and did just that. I prayed the Lord would create a great disturbance in the Force. I prayed that many would turn to Him for salvation. I prayed that Christians would turn to Him to build His church. I prayed that our military would be successful and come home to a mission truly accomplished. I thanked Him for the military of years past that made my prayer that day possible. I asked Him to make me a man, husband, and pastor after His own heart.

Tee and I then went and spent the day at her aunt’s house playing volleyball in the pool with her cousins. Life is good.

Well, it is now a new week, and summer is about to begin for real. Let us pray that we are as hot with a passion for God’s glory as the summer sun!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

