Home > Weekend Wonderings > Weekend Wonderings

Weekend Wonderings

This weekend is the beginning of my vacation. That’s right, a whole week where I will have nothing to do! Granted, I will be doing something, but I will be doing what I want to do and not necessarily what I have to. We aren’t planning to go anywhere, since Tricia has to work, so I will take advantage and rest up.

First up on my list of things to do is to get rid of my old car. I’ve been calling around looking for a salvage company who will take it. Some of you may remember last September’s flooding that claimed my car as a victim. Well, we have recently acquired a ’96 Toyota Avalon XLS to serve as a worthy replacement until such time as we are financially stable enough to afford a new car. God answered a prayer there, my dad was able to find the vehicle and get it for us, right when I was about to finance a Dodge Neon at Carmax and go further into debt. And no, we didn’t really have a choice at that point — Tricia was starting a new job this past Monday, and we absolutely had to have a second car by then. I like the Toyota. It’s easily the nicest car I’ve ever had, not counting my first one back in high school, and that one was almost brand-new. Runs like nobody’s business, it does.

Second, I am planning to blog, and to blog prolifically. I’m going to get caught up on my sermons — I only have 8 left to post. I’m going to finish this church deal. And I hope to come back and finally address the topic of infant salvation that I began back in January. Then I will seriously consider joining other SBTS bloggers in blogging through the Abstract of Principles, the confession of faith of my alma mater, The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. The Abstract has been something that, alongside the Baptist Faith and Message, has helped to shape my theological worldview. I think this is going to happen after vacation, so this week is a good time to try and close up some of the loose ends that are pervasive on this blog.

Third, I’m planning to read, and read prolifically. I have a couple of books I want to finish, and a book or two I want to start. I am currently working on John Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life (click here for the Study Edition) as well as Thoughts on Family Worship by J. W. Alexander. I want to finish those and then tackle either Jonathan Edwards’ Freedom of the Will or Piper’s Desiring God. I will also be doing some sermon work so there will be some supplemental reading on Romans involved this week. I’d like to try and get a couple of sermons ahead of myself so that I can really bear down and focus on the message. You can see where I am in the series at the top of my right sidebar.

Fourth, I plan to try and get my office in order.  I will be moving the old computer to the church and seeing if it can be made feasible in the room I am using for an office.  If the room can be made to work (and it is large enough to work nicely), I will seriously consider moving all of my books to the office.  Something in me rebels against that thought.  I like having my books close by where I can pick one up when I want.  On the other hand, having my library at church could force me to do my reading there, where I will certainly have no distractions.  I would have no visitors, no internet, no television, no dog begging for attention, etc.  I could get a lot of work done there.  Hmm, I must think on these things.

Fifth, I’m going to get back into karate. I’m planning to visit a local Goju-Ryu dojo where I am thinking about becoming a student. I was in Isshin-ryu for 3 years while in college, but have fallen off as school intensified, I moved to Louisville, and it became difficult to find a dojo and make time to attend.

Tom WellingWith Ben Cole’s half-serious resolution on gluttony that he submitted to this year’s Southern Baptist Convention, the fact that I work 3rd shift (an ungodly and unhealthy shift), and impending developments within my family, it is time for me to step up to the plate and start taking my cuts again. I haven’t been in shape or anything resembling in shape since high school, or more recently since I last regularly attended a karate dojo. It’s time to get back into it. As a goal, I want to return to my high school baseball playing weight of 220 pounds. That’s right, I’m on record as stating I want to lose at least 50 pounds. My doctor says I actually need to be lower than 220, but we’ll see about that once I reach 220. I’m sure Tricia would enjoy having her man look hotter than Tom Welling. Bald and fat don’t go well together, but bald and cut….

Last but not least, I am going to play golf tomorrow.  Yep, the very game that back in the Puritan day was considered a vice by some.  I will be meeting a couple of men from our church, a couple of fellow Deaf ministers, and a good group of men for a rousing Kentucky Deaf Golf Association tournament. I don’t get to play very often, so it will be nice to get back on the links. I played varsity golf in high school, but ever since I have not been as good as I was back then. I regularly shot low to mid 80s, and have broken 80 3 times, but since graduating high school I have not been anywhere near breaking 90. I’m out of practice.

Well, with no further ado, I retire to continue enjoying my vacation. Grace to you and peace. Spend the Lord’s day in His house with the rest of the Body of Christ, like you’re supposed to!

Categories: Weekend Wonderings
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

