Home > Weekend Wonderings > Weekend Wonderings – More Nostalgia

Weekend Wonderings – More Nostalgia

I seem to be in a nostalgic frame of mind the past few days and weeks. Before the wife and I go to a family get-together this weekend, I thought I’d post another song from my teen years, namely the one that started the whole revolution in the ’90s. This song got many of the white kids away from rap music…at least until Eminem came around. It gave a whole subculture of kids who still lived in the 80s their own sound and attitude, and brought my generation fully into postmodernism. You know, the more I think about it, the more I realize our music is the foundation of an “Emergent” generation.

So with no further ado, I present to you Nirvana’s Smells Like Teen Spirit. Lyrics follow.

Load up on guns
Bring your friends
It’s fun to lose and to pretend
She’s overborne and self-assured
Oh no, I know a dirty word

Hello, hello, hello, how low?
Hello, hello, hello, how low?
Hello, hello, hello, how low?
Hello, hello, hello
With the Lights out it’s less dangerous
Here we are now entertain us
I feel stupid and contagious
Here we are now entertain us
A mulatto an albino
A mosquito my libido
yay

I’m worse at what I do best
And for this gift I feel blessed
Our little group has always been
And always will until the end

Hello, hello, hello, how low?
Hello, hello, hello, how low?
Hello, hello, hello, how low?
Hello, hello, hello
With the Lights out it’s less dangerous
Here we are now entertain us
I feel stupid and contagious
Here we are now entertain us
A mulatto an albino
A mosquito my libido
yay

And I forget just why I taste
Oh yeah I guess it makes me smile
I found it hard it’s hard to find
Oh well whatever nevermind

Hello, hello, hello, how low?
Hello, hello, hello, how low?
Hello, hello, hello, how low?
Hello, hello, hello
With the Lights out it’s less dangerous
Here we are now entertain us
I feel stupid and contagious
Here we are now entertain us
A mulatto an albino
A mosquito my libido
A denial

Categories: Weekend Wonderings
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

