Home > Commentary > Michael Vick: “I Found Jesus”

Michael Vick: “I Found Jesus”

I have just watched the breaking news conference where Michael Vick publicly admitted his guilt and apologized to everyone under the sun for his actions. Calling himself “ashamed of himself,” “immature,” and needing to “grow up,” Vick affected a contrite and sorrowful figure. He was certainly extremely embarrassed.

But near the end of his statement, Vick claimed that “through all this I found Jesus and turned my life over to him. I just felt that was the right thing to do.”

Sure, Mike. I’ll believe it when I see it. Show me James 2:14-26, and then we can talk.

In this day and age when celebrities think all they have to do to be made right with society is to “find God/Jesus/Allah/Buddha/etc.,” what reasonable expectation of honesty can we have? Paris Hilton, Mel Gibson, Nicole Richie, etc.? Mel Gibson is the only one in recent years who can have some legitimate claim on religious comments about their actions.

Never mind it being the “right” thing to do. The Bible commands all people everywhere to repent and believe in Jesus, so there’s no question it is the “right” thing to do. So does Islam command all to follow Allah. It may be the “right” thing to do, but are you truly converted?

I hope Michael Vick has truly been converted. I really do. I pray that God changed his heart and granted him repentance unto life.

But until he begins to show the fruit of repentance, I’m taking it with a grain of salt. Join me in praying that his is a true faith.

Categories: Commentary
  1. August 28, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    I watched a few minutes of that press conference, and it was so obvious that was a canned speech. He’s a good athelete, but apparently has no acting ability. I didn’t feel like that apology was sincere in the least.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

