Home > Books & Book Reviews > Suggestions for Reading from Dr. Mohler

Suggestions for Reading from Dr. Mohler

Dr. R. Albert Mohler, president of the esteemed school of which I am a proud alumnus, has recently reposted something he wrote some months ago titled Some Thoughts on the Reading of Books. It’s a good post and everyone should read it, including my Deaf readers. You know who you are. *wink wink*

Dr. Mohler gave six suggestions at the end of his post for those starting out in their reading that are paydirt. Pure gold. And I’m going to list them below. Enjoy!

A few initial suggestions:

1. Maintain regular reading projects. I strategize my reading in six main categories: Theology, Biblical Studies, Church Life, History, Cultural Studies, and Literature. I have some project from each of these categories going at all times. I collect and gather books for each project, and read them over a determined period of time. This helps to discipline my reading, and also keeps me working across several disciplines.

2. Work through major sections of Scripture. I am just completing an expository series, preaching verse by verse through the book of Romans. I have preached and taught several books of the Bible in recent years, and I plan my reading to stay ahead. I am turning next to Matthew, so I am gathering and reading ahead — not yet planning specific messages, but reading to gain as much as possible from worthy works on the first gospel. I am constantly reading works in biblical theology as well as exegetical studies.

3. Read all the titles written by some authors. Choose carefully here, but identify some authors whose books demand your attention. Read all they have written and watch their minds at work and their thought in development. No author can complete his thoughts in one book, no matter how large.

4. Get some big sets and read them through. Yes, invest in the works of Martin Luther, Jonathan Edwards, and others. Set a project for yourself to read through the entire set, and give yourself time. You will be surprised how far you will get in less time than you think.

5. Allow yourself some fun reading, and learn how to enjoy reading by reading enjoyable books. I like books across the fields of literature, but I really love to read historical biographies and historical works in general. In addition, I really enjoy quality fiction and worthy works of literature. As a boy, I probably discovered my love for reading in these categories of books. I allow some time each day, when possible, to such reading. It doesn’t have to be much. Stay in touch with the thrill.

6. Write in your books; mark them up and make them yours. Books are to be read and used, not collected and coddled. [Make an exception here for those rare antiquarian books that are treasured for their antiquity. Mark not thy pen on the ancient page, and highlight not upon the manuscript.] Invent your own system or borrow from another, but learn to have a conversation with the book, pen in hand.

Categories: Books & Book Reviews
  1. Steve D
    September 13, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Books? what are those?

  2. September 13, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    You know. Those things made up of paper that you read by the page. They tend to actually do what they’re designed to do when used properly, unlike television, movies, and the internet. 😉

  3. Steve D
    September 13, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    I think i recall this topic being discusses before among the two of us. Im still stuck on your baby pictures blog…sorry!

  4. September 14, 2007 at 6:52 am

    Stuck on baby pics?!? You’re missing out dude. 😉

    Seriously, it is difficult to see how any preacher who will not read can honestly show a) maturity as a believer, and b) biblical fidelity, which includes the biblical qualifications of a minister found in 1 Timothy and Titus. Especially considering Paul’s exhortations to study in 2 Timothy and the value he places on reading in 2 Timothy 4:13. Paul is very clear that he does not want Timothy to be led astray by every wind of doctrine (Eph. 4:14). The only way to do that is to study, and the only way to study is to read!

    So, brother, I challenge you with a heart full of joy and desire for God’s glory in you: Tolle! Lege! Take! Read!

  5. Steve D
    September 14, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    Indeed. Interesting you bring up about the qualifications of a minister. I read that the other day and it has a sentence in there that pretty much is something I struggle with. maybe you can blog about it later on or maybe spark up a sermon for it. The sentence encourages “elders” (or some Bibles say “leaders”) to welcome people into your homes. Without our homes becoming such as a “pit stop” how much is enough? where do we draw that boundary? and who do we draw that boundary for? Interesting topic I would love to hear your opinion on

  6. Steve D
    September 14, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    By the way, I do read (just not for the fun of it) mainly for the development of spiritual maturity, yes. After reading that Wisdom of Jedi book, I dont know if I will ever read for fun! Smile!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

