Home > Commentary, Humor > Strange But True “Baptist-isms”

Strange But True “Baptist-isms”

And an “Anglican-ism” for flavor.

Warning: those who do not have a sense of humor should not read the following post!

I was reading my good friend Ryan Hall’s blog today, and he pointed out in this post something I have joked about with my pastor but never really thought about until he brought it up:

“In the Anglican tradition we use the same chalice for Communion, not those little Protestant shot glasses o’ Jesus juice.”

Back during the height of the alcohol controversy last year, I made an offhand remark to my pastor after a Lord’s Supper service in which we had a lot of unused extra communion cups: “I guess we’ll just go back in the office and do a few shots before the SBC passes another resolution.”

The irony of our Baptist methodology is staggeringly hilarious. We are, at least on the convention level, utterly against even the appearance of alcohol support and use. Yet the very utensils we use in the ordinance of the Lord’s Supper are reminiscent of something that gets passed around in a bar.

So the next time you have Lord’s Supper, think about what you’re supporting by using a communion cup rather than a chalice. I should be thankful, however, that in my wedding we used a chalice for the Lord’s Supper.

Ryan also makes the following observation that I am still wiping my eyes over:

“Some churches use white wine or every sherry as it does not stain the linens as badly. I have no idea how anyone can think white wine is Christ’s blood. (Perhaps the platelets of Christ, but not the blood.)”

I may not be ecumenical in belief, but Ryan proves to me with every post that it is glorifying to God to be ecumenical in your relationships. Read the whole thing, it only gets funnier and funnier.

Categories: Commentary, Humor
  1. September 25, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    Glad you appreciated the hilarity. Life in the church really is absurdity at its finest…

  2. Steve D
    September 26, 2007 at 11:15 am

    Good stuff. I showed a few of my staff as well. Always good to be a little creative in ministry and laugh a few

  3. September 26, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Wow – I’ve thought some of the same things!!! Ummm… dude. Had NO idea you read my blog. How did you find it?!?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

