Home > Family > Dispatches From Kamino (a.k.a “Baby Update”)

Dispatches From Kamino (a.k.a “Baby Update”)

Baby Newell is doing well. We are hitting all the markers we’re supposed to, which is a good thing. You might remember that we had a second ultrasound ordered for this visit because the tech couldn’t get all the measurements she wanted from the first one. That was because Poop Machine was “uncooperative” and wouldn’t stay in place. Well, this time she was able to get all the measurements she wanted. Everything is still looking good — the heart rate was strong, growth and weight are looking to be on target, development is progressing normally. Currently Mr. or Miss Thing (remember, we’re going to be surprised as to the gender) is about 24 cm (however many inches that is, I’m guessing about a foot or so) and is 1 lb. 2 oz. We got to see the face and all the markers are normal, no cleft lip (or palate, whichever it is) and no sign of Down’s Syndrome or anything that can be noticed on an ultrasound. I’m a little concerned that we may have a motormouth on our hands, this kid had an extremely active mouth! During the course of the ultrasound it decided it wanted something to suck on, so as we watched the thumb made its way into the kid’s mouth! That was a good laugh for all of us. We got a good look at the umbilical cord, it was nice and thick, which supposedly is a sign of good, robust health. As I mentioned, they got all the measurements they wanted for the heart and blood flow; there seem to be no structural problems in any of the organs we looked at, and the blood flow was extremely good through the heart, umbilical cord, stomach, kidneys, etc.

We are learning this kid’s personality pretty quickly. It has been very active in the past few weeks and has led me to quip that it thinks it’s on one of those dancing shows on TV. For some reason it likes to play hide and seek with me. It will kick up a storm for Tricia, but when I put my hand down to feel the kicking, it will hush right up and do nothing until I go away and then start kicking again! It loves music, when we are singing at church it kicks a lot when the music is going; also I have started to sing and read to it a bit and so far it gets all restful on us when I do that. I’ve selected a song that I’m going to be singing almost exclusively, with a little variety of course. I’ll be doing “Let There Be Love” by Oasis, and throwing in some other stuff here and there as it gets used to my voice. I’m also reading the gospel of John to it, we did the first chapter the other day. I have been contemplating reading something complicated and theological, but Tricia says there is no way I’m going to let her look like a blonde in front of this kid! Haha! I am thinking of putting a stereo system in our budget for the next month so we can play some classical music in the bedroom while we are sleeping. Also, I’m going to be putting fresh strings on my guitar and giving it something to listen to other than my untrained voice. Makes me wish I’d had voice lessons at some point 😉

Tricia is doing okay right now. Since our last visit she has gained 4 pounds for a total of 5 during her pregnancy. The doctor says that is right on target, and that she should gain another 15 to 20 by the end of the year or by the due date. She is no longer sick (I think I said that last time) and is quickly becoming what Aunt Jan calls “Earth Mother,” she has to consume everything in front of her. I recently got fed up with all the “healthy” food we’ve been buying and went on a Man Food spree the last time we went to the store. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to enjoy much of it because she has been eating up every bit of that, too. Poor me.

Here are some pics from our most recent ultrasound.

baby-newell_9.JPG

baby-newell_7.JPG

baby-newell_3.JPG

baby-newell_1.JPG

Categories: Family
  1. October 2, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    The Force is Strong with this one…

  2. October 5, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Congradulations Man—Those Ultrasounds are amazing!!

  3. Florida Girl
    October 7, 2007 at 12:29 am

    Beautiful pictures of your baby. I would do the same thing by eating healthy foods like Tricia. haha.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

