Home > Sports > The Third Saturday in October

The Third Saturday in October

Tennessee Volunteers VS Alabama Crimson Tide

Yes, it is that time of year again. It is Tennessee vs. Alabama week!

I very thankfully have today through next Friday off from both UPS and the church, so I will be taking a much needed vacation before the holidays start. It’s very appropriate that my vacation start on the weekend of the biggest, most storied rivalry in college football. UT offensive coordinator David Cutcliffe once told tomorrow’s starting quarterback, Erik Ainge, that if he won this game, people would write books about him. This rivalry is *that* important. I previously wrote about it in this post.

The famed “Third Saturday in October” is the marker of the change of seasons in Tennessee. It is only appropriate that this one be different from all others. This Saturday my family will be throwing a baby shower for us to welcome the new addition to our family that will arrive in January. Just as the leaves always change color when this game arrives, our family will mark the change in our lives tomorrow.

We will watch the game, and win or lose, we will have a good time with good food and good fellowship. Of course, we plan to give my brother-in-law Damien a very hard time all day, and I will reserve some very special razzing for my sister for having the poor taste to marry an Alabama fan. But that’s okay, we love her anyway. 😉

I would also like to send a special message to my friend Timmy Brister. Timmy, I apologize in advance for the butt-kicking we’re about to give your Tide. But sorry, I won’t cut you in on the profits from the ivory we recover from Big Al’s tusks. 😉

Categories: Sports
  1. October 24, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    It was a butt kicking all right…just not the right butt!

  2. April 28, 2015 at 7:17 pm

    If you desire to get a great deal from this piece of writing
    then you have to apply these techniques to your won web site.

  3. July 8, 2015 at 12:40 pm

    What’s up to all, the contents present at this web site are
    in fact awesome for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

  4. September 13, 2015 at 1:51 pm

    You actually make it seem really easy with your
    presentation but I to find this matter to be
    actually one thing which I feel I might never understand.
    It sort of feels too complex and very huge for me.
    I’m having a look ahead in your next post, I’ll attempt to get
    the grasp of it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

