Home > Commentary, Where I Am Right Now > Wisdom for Your Thanksgiving (With Gravy On Top)

Wisdom for Your Thanksgiving (With Gravy On Top)

First, the update: no blogging has been done this week because 1) I got sick over the weekend and my wife insists it was the flu, even though I’ve never had it in my life; and 2) I’ve been busy getting ready for Turkey Day. In fact, I spent all day yesterday cooking for the big extended-fam dinner with the wife’s folks. I’ll be spending today at her mother’s eating, playing with the dogs, and watching football with the brother-in-law. So no blogging til Friday at the earliest, Monday at the latest. And with that out of the way, on to more important things:

John Piper gave us a wonderful post about “Ganging Up On Gratitude” that I think captures in a nutshell what Thanksgiving ought really be about. An excerpt:

What can we say to this ganging up on gratitude?

To the Atheist:

Permanent, unalterable gratitude to an infinitely glorious Creator who loves us is what we were made for. The fact that we had no say in our creation is what creation means. It’s also what birth means. Neither God nor Mother Nature gives anyone the choice to be created or born. There is a lesson in that. We are dependent. That’s not debatable. It’s just the way it is. But if you embrace the reality of dependence and follow it all the way to the free gift of salvation through Christ, it is not condemnation but liberation. It does not feel disempowering to be called a “fellow-heir of God” (Romans 8:17).

Powerful stuff, that. And I’ll leave you for the day with an extra excerpt for gravy on top:

C. S. Lewis, before he was a Christian, really disliked the message of the Bible that we should thank and praise God all the time. Then everything changed. What he discovered was not that praising and thanking made people childish, but that it made them large-hearted and healthy. He said, ‘The humblest, and at the same time most balanced and capacious, minds praised most while the cranks, misfits and malcontents praised least.’ That is my experience. When I am ungrateful, I am selfish and immature. When I am overflowing with gratitude I am healthy, other-oriented, servant-minded, Christ-exalting, and joyful.

Go read the entire article by clicking here and then remember when you sit down to eat today to overflow with gratitude towards the God of Wonders beyond our galaxy, for He is holy, holy!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

