Home > Commentary > St. Patrick’s Day at the ‘Cron

St. Patrick’s Day at the ‘Cron

St. PatrickDustin Benge gives us an interesting post about St. Patrick and the Revival in Ireland. It’s good reading and a good historical primer to St. Paddy. As it is, he’s one of my favorite saints, simply because of my Irish heritage.

Dustin takes us on a brief but fascinating tour of the life of Patrick (born Magonus Sucatus Patricius), his ministry, and his legacy. Patrick is also known for several myths, such as the famous banishing of snakes from Ireland.

Dustin leaves us with Seven Lessons to Learn from St. Patrick:

  1. Those who are humbly devoted to God in a life of complete surrender will be used mightily for God and the things of the gospel.
  2. Do not be afraid to stand up against the society and the cultural practices in which you live for the cause of the Christ.
  3. A life that is used by God is a life devoted to prayer. Patrick wrote, “In a single day I would say as many as a hundred prayers, and almost as many in the night.”
  4. When thinking about missions don’t forget those in your own homeland, community and family who also need Christ.
  5. Live a life of complete simplicity and unselfishness because we are seeking another country.
  6. Never stop praying for true heaven-sent revival in your own town and country.
  7. Do not forget to disciple those whom you lead to Christ through saving faith. Salvation is only the beginning of the journey. Develop training programs that these new converts may grow in their new faith.

Oh So Commercial...I shouldn’t be surprised, but this holiday is yet another over-commercialized holiday. Don’t get me wrong — I love the attention the holiday brings on the color green and all things Irish. The local Irish store is going to be getting lots of extra business this time of year. But the problem is that we as a culture have forgotten what holidays ought to be for; that is, a time of remembrance, thanksgiving, and worship of God.

Don’t let the previous pic fool you — I just wanted to plug my employer while I was at it. [/hypocrisy] 😉

Kiss Me, I'm Irish!Yes, I did say my heritage is Irish. The Newells (Old Irish: O’ Tnuthghail) are from Downpatrick, County Down in what is now Northern Ireland, about 20 miles south of Belfast. In the late 1700s our ancestor Samuel Newell (1754-1841) emigrated to the States and was among the first settlers in East Tennessee, starting Newell’s Station, now Seymour, in 1783. My own researches have uncovered that the original Newells (the ones that started all the O’Neill, Knowles, Newell, Neill, etc. names) may have come to Ireland from England or Scotland in the 1100’s, and that our surname possibly predates the Norman invasion of Britain in 1066. My sister, who has visited Ireland twice, has often remarked that she thinks our ancestors likely settled in Tennessee because the landscape reminded them so much of their homes in Ireland. Having driven all over the East Tennessee countryside and seen the rolling green hills nestled in the mountains, I’m inclined to agree. I’m sure any readers who actually are Irish (current Irish, not us emigrated people) can tell us more accurately!

I’ve obviously not much to say today beyond this, so let me leave you with an Irish blessing:

Irish Blessing

  1. March 18, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Thanks Stephen for bringing attention to my Patty’s Day post. I enjoy your blog and have just added you to my blogroll. Blessings! Dustin

  2. March 20, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Says this largely Northern Irish priest…”St Patrick’s day” is a Saint’s Day. Pubs are closed in Ireland on St. Patrick’s day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

