Home > Where I Am Right Now > Milestones: Post #500

Milestones: Post #500

milestoneWelcome to post #499 on The Silent Holocron! The very next post will mark a milestone, my 500th post. It is amazing to see that it took me more than 3 years to reach a milestone that only took several months for some. Hopefully that means my priorities are a little bit more in order than some of my blogging brethren. 😉

The last time I reached such a milestone, I held a small contest that resulted in a post which remains one of my favorites, Towards a Theology of Baseball. I had so much fun with it, and I hope my love for the game really showed forth in using The Game as an analogy for the Christian life.

I toyed briefly with holding a similar contest and putting up a couple of books as a prize (especially now that Timmy has shown us how to do these things the right way), but my finances won’t make that possible. I have pondered for the past week what exactly I wanted to post on, and it dawned on me that there is an aspect of the Christian life that is quickly becoming the framework by which I examine everything: marriage.

I’ve made no secret that I believe Ephesians 5:22-33 is the gold standard for marriage. It is the mission statement in my own marriage as I seek to be a godly husband to my wife. You can read the wedding liturgy I wrote around this here, where you will get a pretty good explanation of what I believe about marriage. I may need to go back and update the posts listed, but at this time there is little change to be had.

As I’ve reflected on marriage, and especially the marriage metaphor that Scripture seems to love using to describe our relationship to God, it dawned on me a few months ago that the process by which a couple comes together in marriage is similar to the way God saves us. I really hope some of you are scratching your heads; likely some of you are having “light-bulb” moments as I did, also. Bear with me and I will explain all. So the 500th post is in draft form right now (and has been for that same few months), with a working title of “Marriage as a Picture of God’s Grace.”

Come back later this week for our 500th post!

  1. April 3, 2008 at 8:04 am

    Where’s #500????

  2. April 3, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    It’s coming! I was waiting until after April 1 so my fellow non-Calvinists wouldn’t think I was making an April Fool’s post. 😉

    More seriously, I’ve been having “daddy moments” the past 2 days and haven’t been able to do much at all — Grace had been throwing perpetual fits and refusing to be satisfied by anything. But then my mother-in-law came over last night and she calmed right down and hasn’t been fussy since. *Grumble*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

