Home > Books & Book Reviews > Band of Bloggers & T4G Book Haul

Band of Bloggers & T4G Book Haul

This here is the book haul from the fantastic week I just had. In addition to the free giveaways from Band of Bloggers and Together for the Gospel, I was a very good boy and did not buy a boatload of books. I was able to limit myself to 9 books purchased from the conference bookstore, all on the cheap (most of what I did buy was less than $10) or at a large discount (two that sold for $25 that I got for $10 or $15). Plus I was given one book (not part of the conference giveaway) by an attendee who was given books from someone else that he already had. I also purchased a couple of T4G shirts. Later I will post some reflections from the conference.

Here’s the total haul for the week. To save me time and headaches, I won’t bother linking to a page for each book; just click on my Monergism Books button or use one of the links on my Books page to order them if you like.

Band of Bloggers Giveaways: 8
Christ is All: The Piety of Horatius Bonar ed. by Michael Haykin and Darrin Brooker
The Mortification of Sin by John Owen (Puritan Paperbacks, Abridged)
Walking as He Walked by Joel Beeke
reTHiNK by Steve Wright
Dear Timothy: Letters on Pastoral Ministry ed. by Tom Ascol
When I Don’t Desire God by John Piper
Young, Restless, Reformed by Collin Hansen
A Tale of Two Sons by John MacArthur

Together for the Gospel Giveaways: 15
English Standard Version (ESV) Compact Bible
The Truth of the Cross by R. C. Sproul
Culture Shift by Albert Mohler
If You Could Ask God One Question by Paul Williams and Barry Cooper
The Gospel & Personal Evangelism by Mark Dever
The Faithful Preacher by Thabiti Anyabwile
In My Place Condemned He Stood by J. I. Packer and Mark Dever
The Future of Justification by John Piper
Worship Matters by Bob Kauflin
Pierced for Our Transgressions by Steve Jeffery, Michael Ovey, and Andrew Sach
Why We’re Not Emergent (by Two Guys Who Should Be) by Kevin Deyoung and Ted Kluck
Preaching the Cross by Mark Dever, Ligon Duncan, C. J. Mahaney, & Albert Mohler
The Gospel According to Jesus by John MacArthur
The Courage to be Protestant by David Wells
Christ & Culture Revisited by D. A. Carson

Books I Bought: 9
Bearing Fruit: Stories About Godliness for Children (The Lord’s Garden, Vol. 2) by Diana Kleyn
Wise Words for Moms by Ginger Plowman
Puritan Evangelism: A Biblical Approach by Joel Beeke
Gunpowder, Treason and Plot by Clive Anderson
Evangelism & The Sovereignty of God by J. I. Packer
The Cross and Christian Ministry by D. A. Carson
A Quest for Godliness by J. I. Packer
The Supremacy of God in Preaching by John Piper
Preaching & Preachers by D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones

Books Given to Me: 1
The Passion of Jesus Christ by John Piper

Total Book Haul: 33 books!

To put this number in perspective, it was not unusual to walk into the conference bookstore and see people in the checkout line with a stack of 30 books in their hands. And it was the same guys, three days in a row. Yes, I was a very good boy.

Know what this reminds me of? It reminds me of the beginning of a semester when we had to run out and buy 30 or 40 books for our 3 (or 4 or 5) classes. Only this time the bulk of ’em were free! Seminary classes and stuff like T4G really are interested in building our libraries. Praise be to God for his wondrous gifts!

Categories: Books & Book Reviews Tags:
  1. April 18, 2008 at 9:07 am

    plus the 14 books you gave me too…thanks!

  1. April 23, 2008 at 3:56 pm

Leave a Reply

