Home > Where I Am Right Now > The Two-Cent Update

The Two-Cent Update

The two or three of you who are regular readers have noticed the silence descending over the ‘Cron lately. Well, I may be a blogger, but real life trumps blogging any day.

UPS is very busy these days, which means I am getting to bed later each morning and sleeping longer. That usually means less time for blogging, since I need to be spending time with Grace and Tricia. We are also in the process of getting Tricia back into the workforce, since it has become necessary to have two incomes once again.

I’ve also been doing a lot of counseling (formal, informal, and pastoral), which has led me to seriously think through a couple of issues biblically. I’m going to do a short series here on divorce (which has been one of the major issues that I’ve been encountering). I want to get these thoughts out of my head before the interest fades. Long story short, I have been a part of several divorce preventions in the past couple of months and have seen several divorces and potential divorces. The majority of my church members are divorced as well (I’d guess at least all but 8 of our 30-something members). I’m no stranger to the issue — both my parents are divorced, remarried, and divorced again — but I don’t think I’ve ever sat down and figured out exactly what my position on divorce is. It has certainly evolved over the past 10 to 15 years and I think that now I am ready to figure out a biblical position on divorce, much like I did with marriage. I have a strong feeling that these posts will not make me any friends, and will likely get a few friends and family mad at me. But then again, Jesus’ perspective was that whoever values friends and family more than Him can’t enter the kingdom, so I guess they’ll just have to be mad.

I will still post on Deaf ministry and finish reporting on Together for the Gospel, but not quite yet. I’ll focus on writing the divorce posts and letting real life calm down first. Meanwhile, avail yourself of my updated blogroll in the sidebar; especially the Bible links I’ve added.

  1. tdelaney01
    June 6, 2008 at 8:09 am

    I am praying for you and your family bro! It would appear as though we both have priorities correct in that blogging goes by the wayside when life happens! I know I have not been as consistant as I need to be either.

    I am looking forward to your thoughts on divorce. I am probably way more to the right than you are! God bless brother.

  2. Steve Dye
    June 6, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Oh yea. Divorce is a big one. I had a sermon on that 3 weeks ago, you still want me to send you my notes on that?

  3. June 6, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    This is actually Terry’s wife, Krista, but I just wanted to let you know that I will be praying specifically for Tricia as I know how hard it is to go back to work after having a baby. I had to go back full-time after both of our first two children and it is very tough.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

