Home > Songs & Poetry > Stone Temple Pilots Returns

Stone Temple Pilots Returns

There are several great bands to come out of the 90s, three of which I had a lot of exposure to. Oasis (my favorite band) is one, Pearl Jam (whom I loathe) is another. But one of the bands that deeply influenced my guitar tastes has reunited. Stone Temple Pilots has returned!

Most of you probably don’t care, and that’s just fine. Those of you who, like me, went through your teen years in the 90s ought to know these guys and the great songs they performed. The charismatic singing of troubled frontman Scott Weiland, the exquisite, creative guitar tones of the Deleo brothers, the driving drums of Eric Kretz, all combined to create an intelligent, addictive sound that I still play on a regular basis.

I have just learned that STP will be at Caesar’s Indiana on August 16. If by some providence we can save some greenage, I plan to take Tricia to her first ever rock concert as part of her birthday present. That would be too cool, to take my wife to see one of my favorite bands after pampering her all day. 🙂

I’ll leave you for the weekend with a sampling of great songs from their discography, with a link for lyrics for those of you who need them. Click on the song name for lyrics.

Plush

Vasoline

Big Bang Baby (the first STP song I ever learned)

Lady Picture Show (Not the best video, but the official video is rated PG-13 to R)

Sour Girl

Hello, It’s Late

Days of the Week

And finally, A Song For Sleeping. This isn’t a video (they don’t have one), but I sing this to baby Grace.

Have a great weekend!

  1. James
    November 25, 2009 at 5:32 pm

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

