Home > Where I Am Right Now > Tuesday Tidbits

Tuesday Tidbits

Here’s a few things that have been happening recently, for those interested:

  • I finished my review of David Wells’ The Courage to Be Protestant, chapter 6 yesterday. The chapter is entitled “Christ.” Look for it over at Said at Southern next Monday. I do plan to post it here as well for those of you too lazy to click the link.
  • Things appear to finally be slowing down life-wise, so that may herald the return of more regular blogging. As always, said blogging is subject to Providence, so stay tuned.
  • Speaking of blogging, the divorce post has been going very slowly due to the aforementioned real-life. All I’m gonna say is it’ll get here when it gets here. Hey: it’s my blog. If you don’t like it, go start your own. 😉
  • Speaking of Providence, I was given a flyer advertising jobs opening at a certain plant here in Louisville. If my wife could get a job there, we’d be financially secure until I could go full-time at UPS or the Lord moves me to a full-time ministry. We’ll be praying for God’s guidance on this, since it is extremely difficult for Deaf people to get good jobs here in the ‘Ville.
  • On going full-time at UPS; I’m going to start the process of enrolling at the University of Louisville to pursue a business-related degree. UPS will pay full tuition and most of the books. If I want to move to a good full-time position (not necessarily the next level of management, full-time supervisor), I need a business related degree. Counseling degrees can only take you so far.
  • Wonder of wonders, I learned just last night that one of my best friends from high school is moving to Louisville. He is also a minister, a graduate of Asbury Seminary near Lexington, KY. He’s been in youth ministry for his entire ministry and will be serving as young adult minister (ages 18 to 30) for the first time in a Methodist church somewhere in town. I’m excited ’cause I haven’t seen the guy in 10 years! Incidentally, he’s also prettier than I am – he’s got more hair.
  • In other wonderful news, we learned that our tax rebate will arrive this week. That’s fantastic because all the little bills from Grace’s birth that keep popping up unexpectedly will finally go away. We’ll take care of that, gas up the cars, and then use the rest of it to take a major chunk out of our student loans.
  • I’m reading D.A. Carson’s The Cross and Christian Ministry in my downtimes at work. I have God’s Secretaries: The Making of the King James Bible by Adam Nicolson as well as Worship Matters by Bob Kauflin as my bathroom readers. See the sidebar to see which Puritan Paperback I’m reading this month.
  • Grace bought me The UBS Reader’s Greek New Testament for Fathers’ Day. I must be raising her right for her to get me a Greek New Testament. 🙂

Well, that’s it for a while. Just wanted to make sure you knew I wasn’t dead or drowning in a pool of baby diapers and spit-up. 😀

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

