Home > Commentary > Hyperventilating Hypocrisy

Hyperventilating Hypocrisy

Or, “The Loony Liberalfeminists”

This week has been a little odd. I’ve done all of my walking at work, since we were hit with a big change in the weather that has left me knocked out with sinus. It’s funny, I thought the whole reason I took up running was to combat days like these. But while competing with Grace for the Biggest Baby award in our home, I’ve had lots of time to observe the election. Particularly the hysteria surrounding John McCain’s vice-presidential pick, Sarah Palin. What follows are my rudimentary thoughts after a week. WARNING: Sarcasm and tongue-in-cheekiness flows freely throughout this post. Read at your own risk.

On Palin:
I like this woman. And that decidedly cannot be said of any female politicians I’ve had the misfortune to see in the news (think Nancy Pelosi, Hillary Clinton, etc.). And it’s difficult for me to think highly of the even fewer female politicians I’ve actually met (think Shirley Duer, Anne Northup, and a few other TN state and local politicians). But Palin takes the cake. She’s a smart, tough, common-sense type who would fit in nicely in Tennessee. By all appearances, she is a Christian, and actually lives like one. And she’s a babe. You certainly can’t say that of the majority of female politicians.

She’s a mom! A real, honest to goodness mom! Not one of those fakes like Pelosi and Clinton. I was heavily involved in internet apologetics a few years back, and on that forum the topic of Hillary for President came up. I made the young atheist liberals quite a-tizzy by suggesting that women in positions of political power were a horrible idea, until the virus that is feminism had been cast out of our women. I further infuriated them by suggesting that a real mother, even a homeschool mom or soccer mom, could do a better job as President than 90% of the charlatans in Washington today. I really set them off by suggesting Hillary was nothing more than a feminist puppet and that a homeschool mom could run circles around her politically. And judging by the reactions in the past week, I was right.

On the Reaction to Palin:
This week (and the week before) has been a study in why I hate politics and pay very little attention to it. The liberals and feminists (they aren’t necessarily one and the same, as my above subtitle might suggest, though you wouldn’t be too far off to assume so) have attacked her with a rancor that would make Sith Lords wince.

They have done things that one wouldn’t wish on one’s own enemies. They have questioned the maternity of her own child, Trig Palin. They subjected her teenage daughter to the worst scrutiny one could, taking what we would otherwise call “baby fat” (no pun intended) from a two-year old picture and over-analyzing it to the point that the liberals declared her the mother of Trig Palin. Never mind that they got their timelines off by a pretty large margin. They excoriated Palin by suggesting that because said teenage daughter actually did become pregnant this year that she was an unfit mother and therefore unfit to run the country. And, to get even more ridiculous, they are blatantly questioning her womanhood by suggesting that her and her daughter’s decision to keep their babies (Trig has Down’s Syndrome) is “proof” that Sarah Palin is a hypocrite! One columnist even went so far as to suggest Palin is “pretending” to be a woman!

If you can’t see the intense and vast irony of that last paragraph, and especially that last sentence, you are obviously so brainwashed by feminism that you can’t think straight.

Let me spell it out for you: Sarah Palin has reached the exact position feminism has been angling towards for decades. She has a family which she cares for herself. She works full-time in an very demanding job for which she is paid as well as or better than other men. She has a chance to be the next President of the United States. She has it all. Not only that, she’s doing it her way.

Yet all we hear from the liberal media and feminists of every corner of America is how “unfeminist” and “unwomanly” and “hypocritical” she is. Why? Because she made her own choices — sexual, reproductive, and vocational. Wait a minute, isn’t that what feminists and liberals champion? Why are they absolutely hyperventilating at the thought of the very end result of their “reforms” becoming Vice-President? Shouldn’t they be cheering?

I find it funny that many of the hatchet jobs on her in the media are being done by old, out of shape, ugly feminist types. It seems they’re ticked off because the beauty queen not only can still wear her bikini, but that she’s not a bimbo. She’s a power-suit wearing baby factory with the heartthrob husband and gorgeous kids, high-powered, high-paying job; and they’re positively jealous.

I pray that my own daughter grows up to become the target of such hyperventilating hypocrisy by liberals and feminists for the choices she makes in her life. If so, it means God has allowed me to succeed in raising a child who seeks His pleasure first. I don’t know if Sarah Palin seeks first God’s kingdom, but she’s got my vote.

  1. A friend
    September 12, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    I agreed with you, Stephen.

    I like the way you wrote. 🙂

    Wish all the politicians, americans, and whoever else to make the best decision to vote!

  2. September 12, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Hi Stephen. I wanted to let you know that I’ve been lurking here off and on for a while. I’m a friend of Angie’s from work. I really enjoyed reading your post. I’m so very thankful Palin is in this race. She has my vote too! 🙂

  3. Sandy
    September 14, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Hey! I completely agree. Normally when I see women running for any type of leadership position, I am totally against it. BUT, Sarah Palin has really got my attention. I think she’s got a good head on her shoulders and she is doing a excellant job being a mother and a governor at the same time. (Let’s not mention that she’s apparently able to control her female hormones and emotions!! Thats what irritates me the most about women in leadership…they almost always end up making decisions based on emotions-not based on the RIGHT thing to do!!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

