Home > Books & Book Reviews, Songs & Poetry, Where I Am Right Now > My Dream Library and Nostalgia Friday

My Dream Library and Nostalgia Friday

Not a lot of posting recently, I know. I’ve had family here since the lights went out last week so I’ve been busy. I’ve also had extended teaching opportunities the past month at church also, so there has been a lot of study time that doesn’t allow my usual posting. Not a lot of rest, so I will be spending the following week sleeping a lot when I’m not at work or at church. I also discovered Twitter as I said in the previous post, so you can keep somewhat updated in the sidebar.

Important stuff first. Please pray for Pastor Steve McCoy’s wife Molly. She had brain surgery today for Chiari I Malformation and so far the reports are encouraging. I have been lifting them up to God all week and I encourage you to do the same.

Also, please pray for me as I try to figure out what I want to develop a teaching/sermon series on. I am feeling led to do the Ten Commandments and/or one of the Gospels. These sermons would be preached on my turns on the preaching schedule or could possibly turn into a Sunday School or Wednesday night discipleship series, much like I did with 1 John this summer.

In addition, pray for my pastor, Tim Bender. He will be leading us through a series on Mormonism on Wednesday nights. We just completed a series on Jehovah’s Witnesses. After this he tentatively plans to lead us through the MasterLife curriculum.

Next week, I will post the two promised sermons from the previous post.

Anyhow, for some weekend fodder for you, I recently saw my dream library here (HT: Brent T.). Let’s see if I can provide a pictoral reference:

Dream Library (Photo by Andrew Moore)
See it Original Size
(Photo by Andrew Moore)

If I had a library like that, I’d never leave the house.

While browsing the web I came across a band I’d listened to in high school that had one of the most peculiar songs I’d ever heard. When we carpooled to varsity tennis matches we used to play this song over and over in my car, singing it at the top of our lungs. So with no further ado, I present you the video and lyrics to The Flaming Lips’ She Don’t Use Jelly.

I know a girl who thinks of ghosts
She makes them breakfast, she makes them toast
She don’t use butter, she don’t use cheese
She don’t use jelly or any of these
She uses vaseline…vaseline…vaseline

I know a guy who goes to shows
When he gets home he, he blows his nose
He don’t use tissues, or his sleeve
He don’t use napkins or any of these
He uses magazines…magazines…magazines…magazines

I know a girl who reminds me of Cher
She’s always changin’ the color of her hair
She don’t use nothin’ you buy at the store
She wants her hair to look real orange
She uses tangerines…tangerines…tangerines…tangerines…
Tangerines…tangerines…

That’s all, folks. Remember to spend the Lord’s Day in His House with the Local Body of Believers of Which You Are a Member!

  1. September 26, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Thanks for your prayers.

    Steve

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

