Home > Commentary > Quotable Holocron

Quotable Holocron

I said this today elsewhere in the blogosphere:

“…the worst thing to happen to non-Calvinists like me are anti-Calvinists.”

This is true.

Categories: Commentary Tags:
  1. Ally
    November 24, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Color me uber confused. Aren’t non-Calvinists and non-Calvinists the same?

  2. November 24, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    No, sadly. Non-Calvinists have no problem with Calvinism and see no need for anything more than spirited discussion or debate with their Calvinist brothers and sisters. Anti-Calvinists, on the other hand, think and act as if Calvinism was a terrible heresy. Further, non-Calvinists don’t desire to eradicate Calvinism from the body of Christ. Anti-Calvinists do, and they do it in ways that are not very faithful to Scripture and are sometimes despicable and unworthy of the name of Christ.

    For example, Ergun Caner of Liberty Theological Seminary (the same one Jerry Falwell started) actually had the audacity to say that “Calvinists are worse than Muslims.” What a blathering, hateful bigot. There are plenty of examples of this sort of stuff going around. Thankfully, much of the anti-Calvinism we see is more of the ignorant and uninformed type presented at the John 3:16 Conference.

    It’s like the difference between a Georgia fan who doesn’t hate Georgia Tech and one who does. Hey, it could happen. 😉

  3. Ally
    November 24, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Sorry Stephen, I meant to say: Aren’t ANTI-Calvinists and NON-Calvinists the same? Thankfully you knew what I meant.

    Thanks for the explanation. I never knew there was such a difference, and I’m the daughter of a Minister… obviously I need to study more 😦 In fact, I’d never heard the term anti-Calvinists.

    Unfortunately I am not surprised to hear that type of hateful response from Mr. Caner. Sheesh that’s awful.

    Thanks so much for the explanation – you’ve piqued my curiosity now to do some extra reading.

    And so sorry, the latter analogy doesn’t hold up – there is no such thing as a Dawg fan that likes anything Yech. Never, ever, ever. lol 🙂

    Thanks again Stephen. Many blessings to you and your family for a Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Ally
    November 24, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Oh, and I realize you’re a UT fan, but seriously – you don’t have the Dawgs in your top 20 poll (to the right) but you do have a 4 loss LSU team whom we whipped? We haven’t been out of the top 13 all season!

    Come on now, you gotta update that thing!

  5. November 24, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    Argh. I knew I was forgetting someone. I’ll fix that. I have to do this week’s update anyway. 😉

    I’d like to differ just a smidgen on my analogy – my hypothetical Georgia fan would say, “I may disagree with them but we’re both Georgians.” That’s the non-Calvinist like me; we may disagree on certain things (for me it’s Limited Atonement), but we’re both Christians.

    I do still think it could happen. No need to burn Atlanta again. 😉

  6. Ally
    November 26, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    LOL – so very true sir. All things are possible with God!

    But forgive me Lord if I don’t see the gnats in a favorable or loving light come noon on Saturday. They don’t call it “clean Old Fashioned Hate” for nothin’!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

