Home > Uncategorized > Ten Questions for 2009, Final

Ten Questions for 2009, Final

Thanks for joining as I blog through Don Whitney’s Ten Questions for the New Year. Previous entries can be read here: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4.

10. What single thing that you plan to do this year will matter most in ten years? In eternity?
I will begin raising up my family in the fear of the Lord. I have in the past two years increasingly come to believe I must work to build a foundation for what Voddie Baucham calls multi-generational faithfulness in my family. After I read Baucham’s book, Family Driven Faith, I became convinced of what I had, by the leading of God’s Holy Spirit, begun to uncover. Much of that revolves around things I’ve discussed in some of the previous questions; namely beginning a regular practice of family worship and personal prayer time. I will begin catechizing Grace soon. All that means is I’m going to read a children’s catechism to her until she is old enough to participate. I’ve been turned on to several interesting resources from ministries that have been very helpful to me, and I hope to procure them soon.

My wife and I also need to make a habit of praying together, separate from Grace. I want us to have a habit of separating from our children to pray over them and our family. I have not yet discussed with Tricia what this might look like for us, and I look forward to having that talk!

These actions are essential if we want to see our children become believers later in their lives. Unless the foundation is laid now for a life of faithfulness to Christ, and unless Tricia and I are earnestly praying for their salvation and teaching them the Gospel, there will be no hope of future generations of Newells belonging to Jesus unless God has determined, in His excellent wisdom, to send another to witness to our grandchildren and great-grandchildren. It is my hope that God has chosen our children and their children after them to become believers, and that hope will not be realized, Scripture says, unless we give them the Gospel.

So if I want to make a difference this year and for eternity, I must begin raising up my family in the fear of the Lord.

Thank you for your generous patience as I’ve suffered through yet another bout of writer’s block! I hope these posts have edified you and given you pause to think about your own futures in Christ! Soli Deo Gloria!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Ally
    March 8, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    So odd you chose this topic today. I was at home this weekend for my best friend’s father’s funeral. He was such a Godly man that was a blessing to me & my personal walk with Christ. In the car going home I was tearfully (in a great way) thanking my mom for our legacy of faith. She was raised to fear & love the Lord and raised me that way as well. She shared with me how many nights she prayed herself to sleep asking God to wrap me in His wisdom, love & guidance and praying that I wouldn’t stray from the faith she taught me as I grew older. Needless to say, I never knew the consistency & determination of her desire to cover me in prayer EVERY night of my life. Every night before her head hit the pillow I was covered in prayer. I can’t tell you what an awesome blessing this knowledge is now as an adult & what a priceless gift it is to know the depth of her love for me.

    It’s beautiful to know that your precious Grace (& blessed baby on the way) will have that same joy. More importantly, it’s wonderful to witness another legacy in Christ take shape.

    Grace & Peace! And thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. April 28, 2015 at 5:40 pm

    * Replace brwads andd other starchy high carbohydrate foos with fruits andd vegetables.
    Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 1986: Vol.
    This recipe was taken from Laurel’s Kitchen Cookbook.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

